Wait. And Wait Patiently.

It is a wonderful thing when God blesses a woman with a husband. That special someone who is “just perfect” for her in that he has been carefully and thoughtfully designed by God to be united as one with her. It is such a joy for the woman to look back and remember how God enabled her to wait on Him and that He was faithful to bless. It is still an even greater joy for her to know that her time as a single woman was also a time of seeking God and being faithful to Him and His purpose. That she did not for one moment wish to flee that state, but desired only to trust in God and wait upon His gracious sovereignty.

Becoming Esther, Charo Washer

Too often in our youth group circle of life, girls experience the pressure of trying to find “The One.” I think it may even be more hardcore than dating when you aren’t a Christian. The Christian Culture has forced this concept of finding the one, but not waiting on God. We’re forced into wringing our hands in worry over why we haven’t found him yet or what’s wrong with us. We never learn to wait. We waste away our time of singleness with worry and find that when God does bring us together with our husband, we aren’t ready or we feel like we’ve wasted time meant for serving. 

We tend to view singleness as something that needs to be corrected. Growing up in the church, as I was graduating from high school and entering college, I was asked time and time again about my relationship status. “When are you going to find someone? Have you met someone yet? You’re getting to be about that age, you know.” Tell me, how do these sort of questions reflect a belief in the sovereignty of God? Never once was I encouraged in my youth to become a Godly woman. I was encouraged to find the right man and since I wasn’t doing anything about it, something was obviously wrong with me. This troubled my heart so much, hearing from the Christian community that I wasn’t doing something right since I was single. I looked to my other Christian girlfriends. They were getting married and having children. What was wrong with me? Didn’t God care about me? The message I was getting was that God must not care about me and want me to be alone and miserable.

We as believers need to cherish singleness and appreciate it like the gift that it is. This is a time in your life when you are completely open to serve God. This is precious! The possibilities during this time of your life are priceless. When you are married and have a family, the former independence you had will be gone. Yes, serving God will have just as much importance as it did when you were single, but your mission field will be drastically different. As a wife and mother, your mission field will be your home. As a single woman, you have the opportunity to go anywhere in the world, whether that be to Africa or across town to Starbucks. You can go anywhere and do anything! Do not wish this time of singleness away!

Be content. Wait on God. Be patient. Use your time as a single woman to serve God. Trust in His sovereignty. He has a purpose in all things. Rest in this.

Check out Charo’s entire article about being a Godly woman. 

 

 

 

Published in: on October 23, 2008 at 2:12 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://refogirl.wordpress.com/2008/10/23/wait-and-wait-patiently/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. You are so right about this. This culture and even the “church” thinks that young women who are not perusing a relationship or a husband are absolutely nuts. I got so tired of hearing people say “why aren’t you out there looking for a husband.” I also got tired of the looks on people’s faces when I said “I am waiting for God to send me a husband.” It’s such a foreign concept, even in the “church.” I can say with all assurance that waiting for my husband (I was 26 when I was married) has done so much good for our marriage. I love him and appreciate him more because I had to wait so long for him. He is my gift from the Lord and I am so glad I waited for him.

  2. Thank you so much for sharing this. I am 25 and I am going through the age in life where my family and friends wonder when I’m going to settle down and get married…

    But I trust that God knows exactly what He is doing in my life and I am thankful that He is giving me the strength, patience, and confidence to wait on Him to send the man who was was created and designed…just for me.:)


Leave a Reply

