Dear Emotions, you suck.

Disclaimer: If you are a guy reading this, consider this your warning. You are about to read the emo-packed thoughts of a girl. 

There are times when I find myself overwhelmed with emotion. It always seems to come out of nowhere and then little things in my life are a bit out of balance and the emotions escalate. The smallest things will send me spiraling down until I find myself in tears, asking myself “what is wrong?” The fact that I can’t pinpoint what triggers these emotions furthers my belief that there is no source, but rather an allowance. I allow the emotions to take up residence in my heart and they make themselves at home and invite all their buddies over. Before I know it, I’m a complete mess. This is a problem. One, it sucks big time. Two, it is wrong.

“Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more important than food, and the body more important than clothes? Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life?

 “And why do you worry about clothes? See how the lilies of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you, O you of little faith? So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.” Matthew 6:25-34 (NIV)

Worrying is a waste of a time. Letting these thoughts feed on each other is destructive and takes the focus off of Christ and puts the spotlight on my shortcomings as I am incapable of ‘outdoing’ God’s will. For some reason I try to take the reigns of His plan by worrying about how everything will come together. This way of thinking is just wrong! God is sovereign and He is Alpha and Omega. This is the truth and my emotions are often a lie. So which to trust? The answer is obvious. 

“Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice! Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near. Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable — if anything is excellent or praiseworthy — think about such things.” Philippians 4:6-8 (NIV)

Think about such things. How often I let the negative overpower the good things of God. This is something I must be constantly reminded of: to not be anxious but to pray. Why is it that prayer is often Plan B? It should be first! Don’t be anxious about anything, but in EVERYTHING, pray! Prayer shouldn’t be the last resort, it should be the very first action. But when the wheel of emotions is turning, prayer seems like a lost cause because why….because I’ve got the crazy thinking going of “I can handle this better than you, God.” How dare I think such wicked thoughts. 

I’m not sure how many ladies may happen upon this, but how many of you struggle with keeping your emotions at bay?

Published in: on November 5, 2008 at 12:45 am  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://refogirl.wordpress.com/2008/11/05/dear-emotions-you-suck/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Oh, I so relate. Really, really relate. My sister and I were just talking about this today. Being mom, teacher, wife, pator’s wife, blah, blah, blah, blah blah…I find I have too much to do, and not really getting much done. I told my husband last night I never go to bed feeling any less than a failure. How did I get here? I do not trust my emotions and try not to give into them. I think it’s just a season in my life without a lot of victory and I need to find contentment in even that. Who cares if the sink is a mess when I go to bed. Don’t mean to vent…..It is very relatable what you said. Too many hats keep us from wearing the most important. Daughter of the King, sleeping peacefully knowing dishes don’t count in eternity.

  2. You are spot on. I am finishing up my last semester in college and I am stressed to the max with finishing projects, planning my next move, looking for jobs, and on and on. This week I’ve found myself almost in tears several times just because things haven’t gone the way I wanted them or expected them to go. I’ve had to constantly remind myself to chill out and let these feelings just be what they are: feelings…not truth. It is so easy to walk around with a smile when you are on top of the mountain, but as I’ve been reminded many times, nothing grows on the mountain top. It is in the valleys where growth is found.

  3. Wow thanks soo much for this. You’ve described some of my own emotional struggles perfectly. Thank you for sharing the remedy. You’re right, it’s far too easy to put prayer at the bottom of our list of solutions and try and fix things our own way first. In many ways, prayer is so obvious, so easy, and yet how often we forget that everything is in God’s hands and we have no need to worry.

    Love love your blog! I’ll be coming back to check it regularly 🙂

    Suzanne x

  4. It could be you have a problem common to many christian women. During puberty a girl develops her sexual identity. Many girls are socially and sexually isolated from males at this time and it causes mental problems in many areas, and they have to learn to cope with it for the rest of their life. I had to see a therapist to get over what I thought was a normal upbringing.


Leave a Reply

