Emergen[t]cy!

“I don’t want to say because what works for me might not work for you. This is where I am on my journey, but my journey is different than yours. For me to tell you what I actually believe might cause a division between us and I don’t want that to happen. I want to keep the lines of communication open between us.”

Isn’t it interesting that the people who bring up the questions are the very people who refuse to answer. Maybe I am way off base here (and please correct me if I am), but I have found that these people who are all about conversation almost always refuse to participate in it. I don’t get it. They present a topic, a discussion begins, but when asked to defend their position they either quickly run away or turn it into an ad hominem argument, usually about your unloving tone or your anger issues. This perplexes me. 

From what I understand of the Emergent movement, conversation is what it’s all about. So how does it then make sense that ’emerging’ folks refuse to converse? Initiating a conversation and then stepping out of it when it gets too hot to handle is not ‘dialogue.’ 

This is a concern to me because this is what’s trendy. The Emergent scene is where you will find the cool kids. It’s where the good music is played and the cool bibles are used. It’s super postmodern and attractive to the trying-to-be-hip youth and young adulters. It is nothing new, but its reinvention of itself is very consumer driven. Just go look at your local Christian bookstore and you will see what I mean (think Rob Bell, Brian McLaren, Doug Pagitt). One word: NOOMA. 

I am really hoping that someone who hangs with the emergent camp is reading this and will be tempted to respond. Cause seriously, I don’t get it. Let’s have a conversation.

Published in: on December 11, 2008 at 5:48 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://refogirl.wordpress.com/2008/12/11/emergentcy/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

