Keeping Your Mouth Shut

I’m learning this lesson more and more every day. I used to think I had a problem with showing emotion. I tend to keep a lot of things inside, which isn’t always the best thing to do. You can’t hold it all in. Sometimes the tears and the frustrations need to come out or you will go insane.

I’ve reached the point now where I’m having to learn to quiet my emotions. I am not always successful at this and I end up getting myself into ridiculous arguments with my loved ones because I’ve overreacted and let my emotions control me. In the moment it always seems like I’m right and shouldn’t back down, but later I realize just how crazy I’m being. I think it’s probably a girl thing, this tendency to let your emotions control you. We know that this is just insane. Emotions are often wrong and can’t be trusted alone as a way of reasoning through a situation. So, I’ve been learning how to keep my mouth shut.

If I keep my mouth shut and let my crazy girl emotions pass on by, I find that when I do feel sane again I can approach the situation like a reasonable person. There are a lot of songs and movies that send the message of “listen to your heart.” I personally don’t want to listen to my heart. My heart has some bad stuff going on in it that often works against me rather than for me. I’d rather approach a problem with a clear head, seek after God’s will, look to His Word, spend time in prayer, and go from there. Sure, it would be much easier to jump to a conclusion based on what my heart is feeling, but the end result is hardly ever  good.

I’ve learned that when I do keep my mouth shut and tell my emo-ness to take a hike, the anxiety subsides and I realize just how stupid I am being. Seriously, so much drama can be avoided by the simple realization of “I’m being a total girl right now and I need to punch my emotions in the face.” Being a girl is not a problem, but the overbearing, overwhelming emotions that come with being a girl are a problem.

Step one: Shut my mouth.

Step two: Pray.

Step three: Realize how silly I am and be thankful that I kept my mouth shut.

Published in: on January 2, 2009 at 2:55 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://refogirl.wordpress.com/2009/01/02/keeping-your-mouth-shut/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I would say that it’s not a girl thing, but a human thing. We all have emotions. And yes maybe women can be more emotional due to their biological make up, but men also react from emotions. It’s kind of ridiculous when you think about it. You have hardcore criminals that are supposed to be tough men, but if someone says something to upset them, they are so powerless over their emotions that they hurt or kill. That’s not being a man, that’s being a child. I agree with what you’re saying though, actually to the tee. When I am emotional, I will most likely not make rational choices, so it good to shut up and walk away until I can calm down and be logical about it.

    happy new years!


Leave a Reply

