Taking Your Own Advice

It’s really easy to write it. It’s something entirely different to live it. I can write and write and write about how God is first, no matter what. But unless I live that way, the words on paper (or the computer screen) mean nothing. 

When the time comes that I must choose whom to please, I admit that I hesitate. I want to do what I think is in my best interest. HA! What a joke. Like little ol’ me really knows what’s best. I don’t think so. I’m always messing things up. Sometimes I get frustrated at myself over what salad dressing I’ve chosen, so what makes me think I am capable of handling the big stuff?

This week has been about letting go. It’s not like I am in control anyway, but my mind tends to think so. I am learning to fully trust in the Lord. That means trusting when I feel like the rug has been pulled out from underneath me, when all this time I thought 1+1=3 and it turns out that 1+1=2 (yes, the answer is obvious, but sometimes you can be blind to the truth). I must trust when I can’t see the next step in front of me, when it feels like I’ll always be stuck in this hurt. 

I firmly believe that in all things, God knows. Nothing is a surprise to Him. Nothing is out of His control. He will do as He pleases, when He pleases. Praise God for  He said, “as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.” (Isaiah 55:9)

Always trust the Lord God Almighty. He is more than faithful.

Trust in the LORD with all your heart 
       and lean not on your own understanding;

in all your ways acknowledge him, 
       and he will make your paths straight.

-Proverbs 3:5-6

Published in: on January 12, 2009 at 6:00 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://refogirl.wordpress.com/2009/01/12/taking-your-own-advice/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

